The Girl in the Red Coat

30 things before 30

Posted on: May 12, 2010

So as I mentioned in my previous post, S and I wrote ’30 things before 30′ lists at the weekend detailing 30 of the things we’d like to do before turning the big 3 – 0. I still have a few years to go considering the fact that I’m only turning 28 (that’s probably the last time you’ll hear me using the word ‘only’ in that context!) this year but some of my choices are vaguer, or more difficult to immediately carry out, than others and so I think the extra time is justified. Besides I am also trying to get a law degree, training contract and make my way along the route to qualifying as a solicitor at the same time so I think there should be no room for complaints!

Without further ado, this is my list! (You can look forward to the entries detailing my adventures along the way!)

My 30 things:

  1. Get an adrenalin rush.
  2. Take dance lessons.
  3. Visit family in Galway.
  4. Be more creative (I’d like to make a scrapbook of my 20s…)
  5. Go vegetarian for a month.
  6. Grow my hair.
  7. Have a vegetable patch.
  8. Be more tolerant in new relationships.
  9. Read a novel in French.
  10. Knit a scarf from scratch.
  11. Go for afternoon tea in Fortnum and Mason.
  12. Choose and go on a London walking tour.
  13. Learn how to make houmous from scratch.
  14. Go to the Porchester Spa.
  15. Watch ‘La Haine’.
  16. Write a letter to my 16 year old self.
  17. Print photos of friends and arrange in frames.
  18. See a new West End show.
  19. Write more letters/postcards to friends.
  20. See my god daughter more regularly.
  21. Cook a full Nigella Lawson meal (starter, main, dessert).
  22. Write a will.
  23. Learn basic sign language.
  24. Organise a schedule for backing-up my data.
  25. Make time to relax and pamper regularly.
  26. Take time for some yoga.
  27. Visit Stratford upon Avon.
  28. Plan a budget, savings etc.
  29. Ride a horse.
  30. Read ‘Alice in Wonderland’ and ‘Alice Through the Looking-Glass’.

Feel free to comment with any ideas for other things you think I should try. With just over 2 years I’m sure I can squeeze in a few more. Failing that, they could be added to the beginning of a 40 before 40 list…?!

5 Responses to "30 things before 30"

I would happily join you on both the London walking tour (yay!) and visiting Stratford upon Avon! I already have a huge list of places I want to see the next time I visit the UK, and I’m hoping that won’t be years and years from now. I left for a weekend trip to London one year ago this week. 🙂

Good for you for making the list — sometimes it feels more concrete to have it all written out? I just might make one myself! Good luck!

Hehe yay! A weekend trip? I hope you didn’t find the jetlag too inhibiting and managed to get the things you’d wanted to do done! As a Londoner, I love it when friends from abroad come and visit me because it gives me the opportunity to do all the touristy things that I never seem to have time to do ordinarily.

That’s exactly it – I feel much more accountable having written the list down and I’m so excited about doing each and every one! Good luck with your own list, I hope you’ll share it with us if you do make one! 🙂

Ha ha Watch ‘La Haine’ … seriously it’s a great movie, go for it!

Fantastic, I shall! 🙂 It’s been on my ‘heard good things, must watch’ list for years but since that list remains in my head, nothing gets accomplished from it! Now that I’ve written it down, it will get done!

[…] you remember, back in my 30 before 30 post, that I decided it would be an amazing idea to get an adrenalin rush? Well, in a bid to try to […]

Leave a Reply

hello!

Welcome to the blogging adventures of a 20-something London girl with a love of travelling, music and laughing with friends. Feel free to join me on my adventures! (.^_^)v

Follow happygoluckycat on Twitter

bloglovin

Click below if you'd like to know when I've updated

Join 5 other followers

visitors

  • 4,302 peeks
